About five years ago, my mother & I decided the ugly purple color in my room had to go. Luckily, I was able to choose the color I chose, so I picked a light yellow. I like everything fairly bright, so the color would work even without artificial light.

Usually, this wouldn’t take long. But I was also a full time student nine months out of the year, going to Bangor Maine for my education. The room was painted in during the month of August so I had little time to re-think a new ‘theme’ before going back to school. During the next summer, I had convinced my dad to go shopping for armoire to hold my television set and massive dvd & book collection. That summer, I also purchased five rubbermaid containers for the top shelf of my closet to hold necessities and a rolling cart to hold everything else.

I was, again, OK with this setup but it wasn’t until a year ago that I decided to just go ahead and completely haul out my room. I just finished it, with everything being done except for repainting my closet shelf and closet back wall (which I plan on doing in a standout color to add a little pizzaz to the closet). Lucky for me, I’m a huge bargain shopper so the total re-haul came to a total of $87.

It may seem like a whopping total, but it includes all new storage units & a new bedside table. My father & I created a shelf for my armoire to increase storage space from spare wood we have had for years, plus a couple coats of primer we had sitting in the work room. The new bureau came from my oldest brother, who just moved out and gifted it to me. It’s a lot nicer than my old one and handmade as well. The nightstand for my bed is actually one that I’ve had for years but re-painted for a fresh look.

The total included:

2 cloth bin storage units (Target): $7 each on sale

Small cloth bin (Target, clearance): $3

Shoe storage bins, interlocked (Target): $8 each, sale

Larger wastebasket (Target): $3

Small round table (Christmas Tree Store): $20 (no tools necessary for assembly)

3 large wall frames (Sorority Sister Document & Graduation document, Diploma: $15 total (AC Moore/Michaels)

3 small tabletop frames (the grey one is DIY): $3/each Christmas Tree Store

Cork-board: $7 (Staples)

I’m still deciding on what color to pain the back of the closet (an idea I read about on Pinterest of course!) and I plan on just re-painting the closet shelf white to brighten up the space). Any ideas for colors? I was thinking something bright, like an orange or teal but I guess we’ll see!

I don’t have any ‘before’ photos, but here you can see the final result (excuse the mess of fabric scraps on top of the shoe shelving unit).

 

 

My “Kappa wall” as I like to call it, complete with my Pledge to Alumni forms, two paddles, Bid paddle, blanket, & a couple other knickknacks from my sorority. I also used the cork-board to hold bulky necklaces instead & display them as well. The bureau in the second picture is from my brother and the nightstand I’ve had for awhile, though I’m thinking of switching out the clothe bins for more colorful ones..we’ll see! 

The interlocking shoe shelves on the left also count as a little resting place for a couple things, with the shoes facing inward so you can’t see them from the doorway. The white armoire I bought years ago as well as the desk I received from a family friend. 

The inside of the armoire. The shelving unit my father & I built houses most of my dvd cases and at least 60% of my books. It’s also a nice space for a couple pictures, two bottles of SkinnyGirl drinks & a few small knicknacks I’ve collected.

Compared with prices I’ve seen for very similar units, this little tabletop (the bottom which now holds a few books standing upright) is perfect for my alarm clock & phone. I bought it for $19.99 comparable to $40 & up other places). 

I haven’t included a photo of the closet, because I’d like to get a ‘before/after’ photo of it once it’s done. But I’m in love with all the new storage solutions that I bought and will certainly continue to move once I move out.

