So, I’m a craft nut. If it can be made, I’ll probably make it. 

If it has anything to do with anchors or the ocean, I’ll also probably make it. So I went to Michaels Craft Store two days ago because I had a laundry list of things I wanted to pick up. About four projects in total, to be exact. The first was a coaster set, which are basically done (and super easy), the second and third were nautical rope bracelets & headbands. Neither of these I can do, as of yet, because Michaels has nothing in the way of rope cord or anchor charms (or, for that matter, crimping beads..I mean, c’mon?!). So I picked up the fourth project, which is below. 

 

I saw block anchors on Pinterest awhile ago, but decided to do my own version in white & an ocean-teal (Craftsmart’s Ocean Breeze to be exact). 

It’s a fairly simple project I did in under a day. I sanded down part of the oval block first, because some of it wasn’t as smooth as I would’ve liked. Then I traced an outline of an anchor with a pencil onto the plain block. I already had a wooden anchor that I used, but anyone else can simply Google an anchor drawing & print it. Or free-hand. Either way. 

I then used a thin-ish paint brush (the cheap kind you get in the pack with the sponge brushes, I paid $4 for mine) and used white acrylic paint to outline the anchor (Photo 1) 

 

I then painted inside the anchor and used the ocean breeze to carefully outline the outside of the anchor, then painted again. I did a double coat of both, then used a sealer to..well..seal it. Since the back of the wooden piece had no wall hanging, I just stuck some 3M mounts onto the back. It doesn’t weigh much, so it stays. 

 

Image

 

ImageImage

